The bakfiets.

With Corey’s work at CityHouse almost every day I have to have a way to get around the city with both girls by myself. Right now a car really isn’t an option because it is so expensive and I am terrified to drive in this city. (Waayy too many bikers to look out for!) Also, my balance isn’t very great yet, so it would be kinda scary (for me AND the girls) to have a seat on the front and back of my regular bike. (Right now, I have one on the front of mine for Eloise and Corey has one on the back of his for Lyla.)

So, that leaves the bakfiets. (We have one with two wheels in the front and one on the back instead of one wheel in front and one in back. They are easier to ride for a beginner and a lot cheaper, but a bit heavier and bulkier.) While this is entirely necessary, I have been complaining about having to ride it A LOT. It’s hard  to steer, and super slow. On the way home from visiting Corey at CityHouse for lunch yesterday, I was having a pretty bad attitude. (It had NOTHING to do with the fact that Lyla peed her pants. Again. At the grocery store.) I was pretty grumpy and taking it out on the poor bakfiets. Then, the Holy Spirit convicted me.

He brought to mind Philippians 2:14-15:

14 Do all things without grumbling or disputing, 15 that you may be blameless and innocent, children of God without blemish in the midst of a crooked and twisted generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world, 

How are people going to see Christ in me if I’m always complaining about things as silly as a bakfiets? I am set apart. A light in the darkness. They need to see that. And if through not complaining about my transportation people can see Jesus, I am going to have to stop complaining about my transportation.

He also reminded me of 1 Thessalonians 5:18

18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

Instead of complaining I need to be thankful for the circumstances God has me in. So, I am going to list a few reasons why I am thankful for the bakfiets.

  1. I have a bakfiets to get the girls and I around.
  2. I live in AMSTERDAM where a bakfiets is necessary.
  3. We have churches and friends who gave so that we could buy the bakfiets and continue to give so that we can live in Amsterdam.
  4. The reason I need the bakfiets is that I have two precious red headed girls to take places.
  5. I get a lot of exercise!

From now on I am going (try really hard) to remember this list of reasons I’m thankful when I am tempted to complain about the bakfiets. My life will be more pleasant and more importantly God will be more glorified.

-Kaylee

9 thoughts on “The bakfiets.

  1. Thanks for the reminder! We are so blessed and yet I still complain and dread our upcoming time on the road, while being 8-9months prego. You’ve reminded me to look at positives instead! 🙂

    1. Thanks, Amanda! I didn’t love traveling while pregnant either, haha. But, the sweet baby is totally worth it!

  2. I can so relate to the day to day struggles of life. While mine are different than yours God still has to remind me that everything in my life He has placed there just for me. We pray for the O’Grady’s often. Look forward to hearing more.

  3. I already love hearing from your heart while you experience new adventures (and struggles). What a timely reminder for ALL of us, no matter where we live or what we drive 🙂

  4. I love reading your blog. It is so awesome to be able to hear your stories. I am also so proud of you, you are doing great work and you are a wonderful mom and wife. Sometime you should post a picture of you and the girls in your bakfiets.

Leave a Reply

