Happy Birthday, Lyla!

Yesterday, August 10th, was Lyla’s third birthday.

We celebrated with Nutella cinnamon rolls for breakfast. I highly recommend them. So easy, so delicious.

IMG_5256

IMG_5245

After breakfast, the girls and I headed to the Albert Cuyp Market to buy flowers for her “Tea Party with flowers” birthday party. (That’s what kind of party she said she wanted!) She got a special red flower from the man who owned the flower stall. She told him, “I’m buying flowers for my party! Today’s my birthday! I’m threeee!!!” He laughed and handed her a flower and said, “Happy Birthday!” She was so proud of that flower!

IMG_5308

IMG_5294

We came home and ate some lunch. Peanut butter sandwiches! Boring, but it’s her favorite!

IMG_5280

Here’s one of Eloise because it’s just too cute not to post. We affectionately call her Little Weezie!

IMG_5287

While they were napping I put all the flowers in vases. I think I bought a few too many because I ran out of vases and had to use my pitchers, too! Lyla picked all of the flowers out by herself! I did my best to arrange them.

IMG_5424

For dinner, we started a new tradition. Birthday Pancakes! I got a recipe from Brittany, who got it from her mom. They are the best pancakes I’ve ever had! I didn’t even miss the maple syrup.

IMG_5399

I added a little whipped cream, sprinkles, and a candle to Lyla’s, and we sang Happy Birthday!I had strawberries and whipped cream on mine! De-lic-ious. Seriously, my mouth is watering just thinking about them!

IMG_5356

IMG_5374

We had her “Tea Party with Flowers “party today after church. Complete with tea (of course), cookies, and cake. It was so fun!

IMG_5428

IMG_5431

IMG_5436

IMG_5434

She got an adorable doll puzzle from Violet, Ruby, and Simon and cute little wooden animals from Nina. We got her a tea set so she could have tea parties with the girls!

IMG_5465

IMG_5471

IMG_5474

 

Lyla Karis, Mommy loves you so much! You are a sweetheart and you bring so much joy into our family. You make us laugh with your imagination everyday. I love that you are passionate about everything and that you call me your best friend forever and ever (along with Daddy, Nina, Violet, Ruby, Britt, Jess, Scott, Kevin, Reece, Jack, Keaton, Doc Mcstuffins, Jake The Pirate… she has A LOT of best friends!). We are so happy that God chose to give you to us! We love you sweet girl!

3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Lyla!

  1. I’m glad you like those pancakes. That is a recipe I found in one of my grandmothers really old cookbooks. I think they are the best I’ve ever had. It sounds like Lyla had a really sweet and fun birthday. I can’t wait to get back over and see you all again!

Leave a Reply

